Book of the day: The Greatest Salesman in The World- OG Mandino

download (6)

The Greatest Salesman in the World

“What you are today is not important… for in this runaway bestseller you will learn how to change your life by applying the secrets you are about to discover in the ancient scrolls.”

This book is captivating, and will keep you busy for a period of time. These ancient scrolls are recited 3 times a day for 30 days per scroll. They are daily affirmations to remind you on the little important things in life and a guideline to change your life and become a great someone.

It is a small book with a big message that will change your life forever.

Below are the list of the Ancient Scrolls in the book:

  1. Today i begin a new life-“Today I begin a new life. Today I shed my old skin, which hath, too long, suffered the bruises of failure and the wounds of mediocrity. Today I am born anew and my birthplace is a vineyard where there is fruit for all”
  2. I will greet this day with love in my heart-“I will greet this day with love in my heart. For this is the greatest secret of success in all ventures. Muscle can split a shield and even destroy life but only the unseen power of love can open the hearts of men and until I master this art I will remain no more than a peddler in the market place. I will make love my greatest weapon and none on whom I call can defend against its force.”
  3. I will persist until i succeed-“I will persist until I succeed. In the Orient young bulls are tested for the fight arena in a certain manner. Each is brought to the ring and allowed to attack a picador who pricks them with a lance. The bravery of each bull is then rated with care according to the number of times he demonstrates his willingness to charge in spite of the sting of the blade. Henceforth will I recognize that each day I am tested by life in like manner. If I persist, if I continue to try, if I continue to charge forward, I will succeed”
  4. I am nature’s greatest miracle-“I am nature’s greatest miracle. Since the beginning of time never has there been another with my mind, my heart, my eyes, my ears, my hands, my hair, my mouth. None that came before, none that live today, and none that come tomorrow can walk and talk and move and think exactly like me. All men are my brothers yet I am different from each. I am a unique creature. “
  5. I will this day as if its my last-“I will live this day as if it is my last. And what shall I do with this last precious day, which remains I my keeping? First, I will seal up its container of life so that not one drop spills itself upon the sand. I will waste not a moment mourning yesterday’s misfortunes, yesterday’s defeats, yesterday’s aches of the heart, for why should I throw good after bad?”
  6. Today i will be the master of my emotions-“Today I will be master of my emotions. The tides advance; the tides recede. Winter goes and summer comes. Summer wanes and the cold increases. The sun rises; the sun sets. The moon is full; the moon is black. The birds arrive; the birds depart. Flowers bloom; flowers fade. Seeds are sown; harvests are reaped. All nature is a circle of moods and I am a part of nature and so, like the tides, my moods will rise; my moods will fall. “
  7. I will laugh at the world-“I will laugh at the world. No living creature can laugh except man. Trees may bleed when they are wounded, and beasts in the field will cry in pain and hunger, yet only I have the gift of laughter and it is mine to use whenever I choose. Henceforth I will cultivate the habit of laughter. “
  8. Today i will multiply my value a hundredfold-“Today I will multiply my value a hundredfold. A mulberry leaf touched with the genius of man becomes silk. A field of clay touched with the genius of man becomes a castle. A cypress tree touched with the genius of man becomes a shrine. A cut of sheep’s hair touched with the genius of man becomes raiment for a king. “
  9. I will act now-“My dreams are worthless, my plans are dust, my goals are impossible. All are of no value unless they are followed by action. I will act now. “
  10. I will pray for guidance-“Who is of so little faith that in a moment of great disaster or heartbreak has not called to his God? Who has not cried out when confronted with danger, death, or mystery beyond his norm experience or comprehension? From where has this deep instinct come which escapes from the mouth of all living creatures in moments of peril?”

I personally recommend this book to anyone who is on a journey to greatness. it is a constant reminder that we are not perfect and one-day at a time is all it takes.

HAPPY READING!

 

2 thoughts on “Book of the day: The Greatest Salesman in The World- OG Mandino

  1. saffo says:

    This is Eastern philosophy at its best.Reminds of Khalil Gibran,Echart Tolle and Robin Sharma even Russel Simmons.Easter philosophy is wholistic and has a way of opening up your mind to a more global perspective.Big ups to Og Mandino,there is part one and part two in this series.The second one completes the analogy from the first book.Read and grow

    Like

    • thebookclubsocietyblog says:

      i would love to read the part two, i am not yet done with part one as i keep going back for reassurance. Indeed the eastern philosophy open up your mind without judgement or focus on a specific religious practice. This book is for everyone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

